The Excellence in Mentoring Award honors individuals who have demonstrated a commitment to expanding quality mentoring relationships for young people in Iowa through service as a mentor to a young person.

Iowa MENTOR program partners may nominate an Iowa mentor who has been mentoring for at least two years for the Excellence in Mentoring Award. Qualified nominees possess a compelling mentoring story that illustrates how positive experiences alter the life of a young person for the better.

β€œMentors across the state are making a difference every day by engaging with young people in meaningful relationships that are linked to improved academic, social, and economic prospects for mentees. We encourage Iowans to nominate one of the thousands of mentors who have answered the call to volunteer with a high-quality mentoring program,” stated Mary Sheka, Iowa MENTOR Director.

For more information, e-mail or call 1.800.308.5987. To nominate an outstanding mentor download the documents found here: Excellence in Mentoring Awards Nomination Form. Please read the instructions carefully to write a compelling nomination for an outstanding mentor. 

Photo: The 2019 Excellence in Mentoring Award winners pose with Governor Kim Reynolds and Lieutenant Governor Adam Gregg at the annual Excellence in Mentoring Awards & Iowa Volunteer Hall of Fame Recognition Ceremony. The award recipients are (l-r) Chris Schveiger, North Fayette Valley Mentoring; Jennifer Burkhiser M.A.Y. Mentoring; Evy Raes, YSS; and Isabel Haas, Storm Lake Stars.